Livercool Awards 2023 – all the winners revealed

More than 300 people attend the Downtown in Business Livercool Awards 2023 at the Hilton Hotel to see the winners revealed. Tony McDonough reports

Livercool 2023
From left, Frank McKenna, Billy Addy, Elaine Bowker and Mario Spatuzzi at Liverpool 2023


Liverpool business leaders gathered at the Hilton Hotel to see the winners of the Downtown in Business Livercool Awards 2023 revealed.

More than 300 guests attended the city centre venue for what was the 21st Livercool awards. Downtown chief executive Frank McKenna reflected on how the city had changed since the first awards were held.

“We held the first Livercool Awards at the Crown Plaza Hotel,” Frank told the audience. “Back then there were only two venues in the city big enough to hold the event – the Crown Plaza and the Adelphi.

“Just look at how many hotels have been opened in Liverpool over the past 20 years.”

He added that Downtown had always been a “critical friend” to the city. He said the organisation had led the charge against a ridiculous tall buildings policy.

Frank was also an outspoken critic of UNESCO during its decade-long stand-off with the city over new development on the waterfront. This eventually saw Liverpool stripped of its World Heritage Status (WHS) in July 2021.

And he said that he, and many other people in the city, were not sad to see the back of WHS, adding: “WHS cost Liverpool hundreds of millions of pounds in lost investment.”

READ MORE: Investor to build huge Mersey industrial complex

Referring to Downtown’s reputation for being an “edgy lobby group” he said he also recognised the tough time the city and its businesses had endured recently and added the organisation would be more “constructive” in its approach from now on.

“We have many great natural assets in Liverpool,” he went on. “We have got to start talking Liverpool up and attract more investors and make the next two decades even better than the last two.”


Livercool 2023
Downtown CEO Frank McKenna addresses the Liverpool Awards 2023 audience at the Hilton
Livercool 2023
Greg Johnson, MD of Warwick North West, was named Young Entrepreneur of the Year at Livercool 2023


Sponsored by Vitality Homes, the awards were hosted by Greatest Hits DJ, Simon Ross and Liverpool broadcasting legend, Pete Price.

Big winners on the evening included, John Irving from Liverpool John Lennon Airport, who won the Chief Executive’s Award, Anders Borg from Northern Vision, who scooped the Contribution to Liverpool Award and Greg Johnson from Warwick North West who was named Young Entrepreneur of the Year.

Frank added; “Livercool has once again shown the incredible amount of talent there is in the business community of Liverpool. Each and every year the calibre of the nominees is exceptional and is always getting better.”

The Livercool Awards 2023 Winners:

City of Liverpool College Apprentice of the Year 2023
Joshua Geoghegan

DIB Ambassador Awards 2023
Mario Spatuzzi, The Printroom UK

Elaine Bowker, City of Liverpool College

Bill Addy, Liverpool BID Company

Male Networker of the Year 2023
Stuart Capstick, Glenville Walker

Female Networker of the Year 2023
Helen Duffy, Malmaison

Fly with the Eagles Award 2023
Hilda Yarker, John Haynes Foundation

Employee of the Year 2023
David Wright, The Guide Liverpool

Digital, Tech & Innovation Personality of the Year 2023
James Hamilton, Halcyon

Legal Personality of the Year 2023
Helen Brown, Brabners

Financial Services Personality of the Year 2023
Hilene Henry, Sedulo

Recruitment Consultant of the Year 2023
Diane Thomas, DCT Recruitment

Visitor Economy & Hospitality Personality of the Year 2023
Marcus Magee, Hilton Hotel Liverpool City Centre

Bar/Restaurant Personality of the Year 2023
Dimitri Prassinos, Gaucho

Hotel General Manager of the Year 2023
Mark Tasker, Crowne Plaza Liverpool City Centre

PR & Communications Personality of the Year 2023
Robin Tudor, Liverpool John Lennon Airport

Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2023
Greg Johnson, Warwick Developments

Property Personality of the Year 2023
Sean Keyes, Sutcliffe

Business Personality of the Year 2023
Colin Sinclair, Knowledge Quarter Liverpool & Sciontec

Liverpool BID Company Award 2023
Matt Wilson, Sony Playstation

Chair’s Award 2023
Daniel Yuen & Kieran Riddell, Montirex

Contribution to Liverpool Award 2023
Anders Borg, Northern Vision

Chief Executive’s Award 2023
John Irving, Liverpool John Lennon Airport

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Username field is empty.