Mersey Maritime launches 2024 industry awards

Mersey Maritime invites maritime and logistics businesses to submit entries for its 10th annual industry awards. Tony McDonough reports

Mersey Maritime
Winners of the Mersey Maritime Industry Awards 2023, held at Liverpool Cathedral


Nominations are now open for the 2024 Mersey Maritime Industry Awards (MMIAs).

Taking place in Liverpool Cathedral on Friday, October 25, this will be the 10th MMIAs and maritime and logistics businesses across Liverpool city region and the wider North West are invited to enter.

There are 12 awards categories this year and applications are welcomed from businesses, individuals, non-profit organisations or charities.

Mersey Maritime is the representative body of Liverpool city region’s £5bn maritime sector. Chief executive Ruth Wood said: “We are excited to see what this year will bring with regards to entries.

“We are committed to championing our members and the broader industry and the Mersey Maritime Industry Awards provides them with an opportunity to showcase their achievements on a national scale.

“We will once again be using a two-stage judging process, with both industry judges and a public vote.”

READ MORE: Shipping duo combine to offer faster American service

READ MORE: Mersey Ferries introduces self-service ticket machines

Mersey Maritime was conceived to create an ecosystem, championing and supporting one of the most diverse maritime regions in the UK and has been doing so ever since it was founded in 2002.

Closing date for submitting award entries is Sunday, June 30. Every application received is assessed by Mersey Maritime’s industry judging panel who select the finalists for each category following a rigorous process.


Ruth Wood
Ruth Wood, chief executive of Mersey Maritime. Picture by Tony McDonough


The winner of each category will once again be determined by the industry itself, with an industry voting platform launching in early September 2024. Entries can be submitted via the application platform HERE. 

Ruth added: “We have updated our categories to reflect the changes and priorities of the sector, wanting to recognise the achievements across net zero, innovation, future skills, maritime campaigns and those committed to driving change.”

There are 12 award categories in total:

  • Business of the Year
  • Diversity Champion Award
  • Employer & Future Skills Award
  • Logistics & Trade Excellence Award
  • Maritime Ambassador Award
  • Maritime Campaign of the Year
  • Maritime Personality of the Year
  • Net Zero Champion Award
  • Positive Impact Award
  • Rising Star Award
  • SME of the Year
  • Technology & Innovation Award

To view the award categories, apply for an award or buy tickets/tables, visit Mersey Maritime’s website HERE.

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Username field is empty.