Two Liverpool projects on RICS Awards shortlist

Two Liverpool regeneration projects are shortlisted in the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors Awards North West 2024. Tony McDonough reports

St Michael's Church
St Michael’s Church in Aigburth, Liverpool. Picture by Tony McDonough


Two building projects in Liverpool have been shortlisted in the annual RICS (Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors) Awards North West.

A £40m transformation of the former Liverpool City Council headquarters into a luxury hotel is shortlisted in the Heritage Project and Refurbishment/Revitalisation Project categories and the £2m St Michael’s Hamlet project in the Heritage category.

Opened in spring 2023, the Municipal Hotel & Spa is a restored Victorian Municipal Building dating back to 1868 that includes a 179-room hotel comprises a restaurant, afternoon tea lounge, cocktail bar and spa.

South Liverpool’s St Michael’s Hamlet represents a £2m investment in a project that entailed the restoration of two listed buildings.

The RICS Awards showcase the most inspirational initiatives and developments in land, real estate, construction and infrastructure. They recognise outstanding achievement, teamwork and companies.

Entries are shortlisted across five categories – Residential Development, Community Benefit, Heritage, Public Sector, Refurbishment-Revitalisation. The Refurbishment and Revitalisation category is sponsored by Unify Energy.


The Municipal Liverpool
The Municipal Liverpool hotel, which opened in May 2023


Chair of the North West RICS Awards judging panel, Peter Gilliland, said: “It is inspiring to see such inspirational projects in the North West shortlisted for these awards.

READ MORE: Grade II-listed building to be latest Liverpool hotel

“It is a true testament to the dedication of surveying professionals despite challenging times in recent years. I wish all of the projects the best of luck.”

Companies still have the opportunity to enter an additional six categories – to be judged nationally – and have until April 26 to submit their entries. Amongst the national categories is the new Ambassador of the Year Award category. Click here for more information.

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Username field is empty.