North West stars of finance shortlisted for top awards

Leading finance directors in the Liverpool City Region, Chester, Warrington and North Wales have been short-listed for the second annual FD Awards which will take place in November.

The awards are a culmination of over 200 nominations resulting in a celebration by 33 finalists. The categories cover all size of companies as well as awards for public sector / not-for-profit, international businesses, young finance director of the year and local awards for Liverpool, North Wales and West Cheshire.

The awards, supported by Accountable Recruitment, Grant Thornton, Hill Dickinson and HSBC, are a showcase of this part of the North West and North Wales’ leading finance directors and CFOs, and aims to highlight their good work in businesses and public sector organisations across the region.

Neil Sturmey, partner and head of Grant Thornton’s Liverpool office, said:

“These awards allow us to focus on the local FDs whose roles go well beyond the numbers- they lead their teams and are pivotal in setting strategic direction in their businesses. There are some great stories, from personal resilience and great skill, to delivering fantastic business growth”.

Simon Massey, managing director at Accountable Recruitment, said:

“I’m very passionate about our local business regions and having had the pleasure of working with so many talented FD’s within the local area I really appreciate and understand what remarkable jobs they do year in year out. As a result I feel that they deserve some well earned recognition and would like to say well done to all the finalists at this stage.”

Mark Rowan, Senior Corporate Banking Manager at HSBC, said:

“These regions boast some fantastic businesses and it will be a very difficult task to pick the winners for each category from very competitive shortlists. HSBC works with many of the companies listed and we know first-hand the hard work and effort that goes into operating successful businesses by these talented FDs. I am sure it will be a fantastic evening celebrating some great individuals.”

Sue Russell, Partner at Hill Dickinson, said:

“As the economy continues to show signs of improvement, the role of the Finance Director continues to be absolutely crucial, not just in terms of sound financial management and discipline, but in playing a central role in the strategic development of the business and maintaining sustained growth and profitability. It’s a particularly good time to recognise this key role and the achievements of some of the finest in the region with these awards.”

The full short-list is below:

Young finance director of the year (under 40 years of age)

Phil Didlick, The O’Brien Group

Alex Jessup, Practice Plan

Paul Jamieson, Abbey Logistics Group

Adam Carter, Maghull Group

Andrew Jones, Carrier Transicold UK


Best finance director of a ltd company (under £15 million turnover)

Tim Holme, Clogau Gold and Safety Media Ltd

Tom Arnold, Potensial Limited

Paul Clarkson, Erlson Precision Components Limited

Tim Molloy, Iliad Group


Best finance director of a ltd company (under £16 – £30 million turnover)

Peter Johnson-Treherne, Heritage GB

Peter Clarkson LMS

Stuart Hunter, Feathers Group Limited

Kevin Martin, Tratos Limited

Steve Walsh-Hill, Hobs Reprographics


Best finance director of a ltd company (£30 – £50 million turnover)

John Seaward, Tudor Griffith Limited

Ian Atkinson, Brit European Limited

Howard Jones, Baywater Healthcare


Best finance director of a ltd company (£50 – £200 million turnover)

Jon Furber, Appsense Limited

Simon Garnett, Downing Developments Limited

Colin Boyle, Banner Chemicals Limited


Best finance director (above £200 million turnover)

Jens Penny, Stella Travel Services Limited

David Meir, Eddie Stobart Limited

Brendon Banner, NWF Group plc


Best finance director for a non-profit Government / health organisation

John Graham RLBUHT

Becky Hellard, Liverpool City Council

Ian Leivesley, Halton Borough Council

Neil Smith, Merseycare


Best finance director for a not for profit organisation

Chris Brooks, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine

Vivien Cross, Plus Dane Housing Group

Alison Williams, Alpha Limited


Best finance director for an international business

Adrian Ellam, Invertek Drives Limited

Richard Rust, DMM International Limited

Carl Stead, Lattimer Holdings Limited


Regional, Entrepreneurial and Overall Finance Director winners will be named at the awards ceremony which takes place on Wednesday, 12th November 2014 at the Crowne Plaza in Liverpool.

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Username field is empty.