Local stars step out to celebrate Clapperboard’s 11th awards ceremony

Personalities from stage and screen attended the Clapperboard Awards Ceremony, which celebrates the achievements of young creative talent from across Merseyside.

Chris Purcell from Sefton Creative Hubs is presented the Liverpool Echo Best Achievement Award by Echo journalist Jade Wright and Hollyoaks actors Jacqueline Boatswain and Karl Collins. Credit Dave Nelson


Liverpool actor and writer Neil Fitzmaurice hosted the event, which was held at Liverpool Hope University’s Capstone Theatre.

Presenting the young film-makers with their awards were guests, including actor Alison Steadman, Ricky Tomlinson, director of National Film and Television School & film producer Nik Powell and Liverpool Echo journalist Jade Wright.

Actor Neil Fitzmaurice with Lord Mayor Roz Gladden, Jury member Perri Allyene Hughes and Jeff Dunn with Junior Lord Mayors​. Credit Dave Nelson


Clapperboard UK is a youth led industry supported film-making project. The young adults involved produce short films exploring issues around mental health, Asperger’s and autism.

Winners of the 5 awards:

Best Presenter to Camera –  Sophie Holden – Re-Arrange Film and Media for OPEN YOUR MIND, Reflections on Mental Health

Best Poem – Alia Boqash –  GAIN Poets for OPEN YOUR MIND, Reflections on Mental Health

Alison Steadman Award for Active Citizenship Lisa Simpson for LISA SIMPSON INCLUSIVE DANCE

Liverpool Echo Best Achievement Award – Chris Purcell – Sefton Creative Hubs

Overall Winning Film – David Blakemore – Sefton Creative Hubs for his short film Honest Dystopia!


You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Username field is empty.